top of page
Search
  • joannsoriano18

A Stay at Home Mom and a Freelancer

Updated: Jul 9, 2020

When i decided to quit from my corporate work 6 months after I gave birth to our youngest , I just then realized that the hardest job I've ever had is being a stay at home mom.I used to work in a corporate world for 14 years , and my whole system is programmed to do similar routine . Morning task , go to work , combat the pressure of the corporate environment , and its only during night time and during our rest days that we have a bonding with our eldest during those 14 years , ( we have nanny before by the way) . Both my husband and I are working then.

Unexpected blessing came , 4 years ago and that was our youngest . Working moms can relate to this , that one of the problem after you gave birth is "who will look after my baby when I am at work? " when you and your partner are working. Lucky if you have parents or relatives with you whom you can entrust the baby. In our case , we are far from both our parents , looking for trusted nanny now a days are very difficult .


A Stay at Home Mom and a Freelancer

In my first year of being a stay at home mom, I find myself in the phase of my life where I can't adjust to the situation of where I am . It's a roller coaster of emotions, it's spontaneous. We don't have nanny so I have to do all the chores. But my husband and my eldest help me when they are at home.There are times that I cried for no reason at all , maybe it's because of the exhaustion for many sleepless nights specially when my son is on his first year, I couldn't even fix myself properly and maybe because , that's what they called the postpartum depression. I have to admit , I missed my career that was left behind. There are certain times that companies would connect to me, call me , asking If I am willing to be part of their team. My mind is telling me to go back to work . I really wanted to go back to work . I am afraid to be stagnant. But when I look at our children , my heart tells me the exact opposite , that our children is far more important for now and ever . My youngest needs me at his stage , not a nanny or whoever. My eldest needs my presence everyday. That time is precious ....That our children are not forever kids, that they will grow fast and I don't want to missed those moments. Not a single moment anymore. Maybe being a stay at home mom is the hardest job I've ever had , but it's the most rewarding and fulfilling job in the world.


"No amount of money or success can take the place of time spent with your family"



How I Become a Freelancer?

I told my self , I still wanted to earn while at home . Help my husband with the daily expenses and most specially I want to have my own money . I wanted to be financially independent . That's what I used to be . I created an account before with upwork, with onlinejobs.ph & linkedin 3 years ago. I decided that I wanted to be a freelancer . But nothing happened , with the competition, I don't know where to start. With lots of freelancer out there more skilled than I am , I am totally at lost . Fast forward, as I am browsing my Facebook, I came across this Facebook page of FVA consultancy. I became a follower . Got interested with the courses they offer. And I found myself enrolled in the course. During the period , i just then realized that being a freelancer is not just simply creating an account to different online job platforms. That you really need to work hard for it. Earn it .You need to be equipped and be guided. And now, I am ready to battle the freelancing world.


Tips to Start as a Freelancer

  • Define your goals

  • Know your best interest

  • Equip yourself

  • Create a strong portfolio

  • Challenge yourself

To all the mommies like me who still wanted to pursue their career and be financially independent, believe me ....you still can.Our abilities are not being stopped when we stay at home.

It is the beginning.... gear your self , explore and go out of your comfort zone , connect to the digital world. And soon your hard work will pay off. Spending time with your family yet earning a living at home . Just recently. a friend of mine asked me. "Don't you have plans to go back to your corporate work". Then I answered, " I am happy as a stay at home mom and a freelancer :) "



"Dreams Don't Work Unless You Do ."





26 views0 comments
bottom of page